Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Lafayette City Council Incumbents Advance in Primary

The only contested race in yesterday's primary was for the at-large seats in the Lafayette city council. Two Democrats, Dewayne Moffitt and Matt Swisher, did not generate enough votes to unseat any of the incumbents, Lon Heide, Kevin Klinker, and Nancy Nargi. The incumbents will, however face a Republican challenger in the fall election. Mayor Roswarski and 6th District councilman Bob Downing will also face Republican opponents in the fall. First District Republican incumbent will be opposed by Democrat Linda Shriner. Lafayette Democratic council candidates Ron Campbell, Perry Brown, Lauren Ahlersmeyer and Melissa Weast-Williams will run unopposed, as will City Clerk Cindy Murray. West Lafayette cancelled its primary because there were no contested races. Read more about the primary in the J&C here.