Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Dems Win Indiana Mayor Races

In addition to Lafayette's Tony Roswarski, who won re-election with over 80 percent of the vote, other Democrats won significant mayoral races across the state. In the state's bigggest mayoral prize, Joe Hogsett won in Indianapolis with 62 percent, and brought a Democratic city/county council with him. Thomas Henry won a third term in Fort Wayne with 57 percent. In Gary Karen Freeman-Wilson won a second term against five candidates with 71 percent. John Hamilton won in Bloomington with 77 percent. And rising star Pete Buttigieg was re-elected in South Bend with 80 percent of the vote. Greencastle has a new Democratic mayor, Bill Dory, who won with 57 percent. Thomas Broderick Jr. won in Anderson, and Greg Goodnight won a third term in Kokomo. Gabe Greer defeated a three-term incumbent in Peru.

Read more here and here.